Let’s Hop…

I decided to look more into the ‘Swing’ side of the project, because all of my other group members are focusing on Frank Sinatra himself, and personally I find him to be quite dull.

I looked up swing dancing, and discovered it evolved from the ‘Charleston’ dance – a dance named after Charleston City, in South Carolina, which became popular in 1923 after a song of the same name, composed by James P. Johnson.

Some examples of the Charleston Dance:

From looking at these I decided to try to create a small animation to attempt to capture the liveliness and life of swing dancing, and although the animation is only very rough I think that it captures the essence of the dance quite well:

Leave a Reply

